A Prime Model Of Future Cities

An Emerging Futuristic Urban Development

Search

事件

马来西亚对华特使:要让中国人在马来西亚有宾至如归的感觉

        当前,中国和马来西亚都站在新的历史起点上,马来西亚与中国双边贸易额以及中企对马来西亚的投资均持续增长,中国是马来西亚主要外资来源地。马来西亚政府亦有意继续支持和积极参与“一带一路”建设,并推动双边经贸合作。

        近日,马来西亚对华特使、马来西亚—中国商务理事会主席陈国伟在接受本刊记者专访时表示,中马两国的经贸合作与成长推动了两国关系的积极发展,且越来越好。

        “我们欢迎更多的中国人到马来西亚旅游、投资、置业。”陈国伟说。

马来西亚对华特使、马来西亚—中国商务理事会主席陈国伟

“这些数据是会说话的”

        在东盟10 国中,马来西亚是第一个与中国建交的国家,在见证中国改革开放取得巨大成就的同时,中马经贸的发展也取得了令人惊喜的进步。陈国伟列举了一组数据进行对比:在中国改革开放(1978~2017 年)的40 年间,中国的人均收入增长了55 倍,国内生产总值(GDP)增长224.6 倍。而同样以40 年为周期看中马贸易,两国建交当年(1974 年)双边贸易总额只有1.59 亿美元,到2013 年已增至1060 亿美元,增长了667 倍。“从马中双边经贸的成长轨迹来看,我们两国的关系是越来越好的。”陈国伟总结道。

        “这些数据是会说话的。”陈国伟表示,一系列数据讲述的正是中国政府和中国人民对马来西亚的看好,以及对两国合作发展的信心。

        而基于中马两国在支持多边主义和全球贸易自由等方面的共同立场,马来西亚企业家和投资者们向来积极参与和支持中国主办的各项贸促活动,如中国国际进口博览会、“一带一路”国际合作高峰论坛等。“我们两国在这些活动中增进了交流也收获了商机。”陈国伟说。他同时对2019 年中国—东盟博览会表示期待。

“马中‘两国双园’将更具标志性意义”

        在中马经贸合作的成绩单上,令陈国伟感到惊喜的还有“两国双园”项目。

        中马钦州产业园区与马中关丹产业园区开创了“两国双园”国际园区合作的新模式。中马钦州产业园区开发建设6 年来,总投资超过140 亿元,入园注册企业达到347 家,引进产城项目148 个,总投资1197.45 亿元。10多个具有规模和发展前景的高技术项目相继投产,昔日的荒山野岭已摇身变成一座产业新城。马中关丹产业园则重点发展以钢铁、铝材深加工、棕榈油加工、清真食品加工等双方具有传统优势的工业,加快发展信息通信、电器电子和环保产业等为主的新兴产业,并积极发展金融保险业等。

        “马中‘两国双园’是象征两国合作的重要标志,也是两国人民交流和商务合作的重要窗口。”陈国伟评价道。而从2018 年马来西亚与广西的双边贸易总额较2017年同比增长44% 的突出表现来看,他预见,作为中马经贸合作标志的中马钦州产业园区将会成长为广西的经济获利区之一。对于“两国双园”间的互动,陈国伟希望中马两国政府在园区招商、税收优惠、教育合作等方面实现更大的进步与发展。“如此一来,马中‘两国双园’将更具标志性意义”。

        据了解,目前,中马“两国双园”已建立紧密的合作安排,产业合作进展顺利,中马钦州产业园区国家燕窝及营养保健食品检测重点实验室、燕窝加工贸易基地和查验平台已经建成并投入使用。2018 年,中马钦州产业园区与马来西亚企业发展部共建的清真产业园项目、与马来西亚中华总商会共建的马来西亚创新城项目均启动;马中关丹产业园区总投资14 亿美元的联合钢铁项目已经实现投产;石化、铝加工等项目加速布局。

“要让中国人在马来西亚有宾至如归的感觉”

        2018 年8 月,马来西亚总理马哈蒂尔访华会见中国国家领导人。中马双方一致认为,中马传统友谊深厚,两国既是全面战略伙伴,也是务实合作伙伴。当前两国都站在各自国家发展新的历史起点上,双方对两国关系发展前景充满信心,并对当前两国经贸关系感到满意,同意共同编制两国《经贸合作五年规划(2018-2022)》。两国将从战略大局和长远出发,在相互尊重、平等互利的基础上,进一步增进政治互信,深化务实合作,推动中马全面战略伙伴关系持续稳步发展。马方重申坚定奉行一个中国政策,欢迎、支持并将继续积极参与“一带一路”合作。

        在陈国伟看来,“一带一路”倡议,其内涵就是要在全球化的新格局和未来发展的大环境下,各国增进交流以实现互利共赢。尽管近年来国际经贸走势存在诸多不确定性,市场低迷、汇率波动等因素导致2014 年起中马双边贸易总额增幅放缓,但在2018 年,中马双边贸易总额创下了历史新高(1086亿美元),中国连续第三年成为马来西亚最大的外来投资国。由此陈国伟相信,中马两国将能克服逆境,在合作中开发更大的市场潜力。而提及马来西亚新政府此前宣布暂停或取消一些中国投资项目的决定,他认为:“这是马来西亚新政府出于对本国经济状况的评估而形成的决策,且中马两国政府都已就此事进行了很详细的讨论。中方领导多次表明,十分理解马来西亚当前的经济处境。中方政府也相信,马方绝不会与中方唱反调。”陈国伟解释道,这并不会有损中马经贸合作的大局,也不会影响中资企业到马来西亚投资的信心,“中国是我们非常重视的战略伙伴,中马关系源远流长,非常紧密。”

        事实上,为了吸引外国资金、促进旅游、发展经济,早在2002 年,马来西亚政府就出台了“第二家园” 计划(MM2H),以鼓励外籍人士在马来西亚较长时间居住。该计划灵活自由、可撤回的侨居条件深受许多中国人青睐。至2018 年,马来西亚政府共批准126 个国家共计3.3 万名外国人参与该计划,其中中国人申请最多,批准人数为8714 人。

        在“MM2H”的加持下,陈国伟表示,马来西亚新政府和各级机构也在不断推出更多优惠政策,希望增强中资企业到马来西亚投资的信心。他介绍称,目前,其领导的马中商务理事会已为中国投资者编制出版了投资指南手册,详细阐述了马来西亚的税务结构、经贸法律、政经状况等,为其提供便利。

        “我们要让中国人在马来西亚有宾至如归的感觉。”陈国伟说。

来源:《中国—东盟博览》“政经版”(2019年3月刊)

后退
Go top

A Prime Model Of Future Cities

An Emerging Futuristic Urban Development

Search

Events

Malaysian Special Envoy to China: Let the Chinese feel at home in Malaysia

At present, China and Malaysia are both at a new historical starting point. The bilateral trade volume between Malaysia and China and the investment of Chinese enterprises in Malaysia have continued to grow. China is a major source of foreign investment in Malaysia. The Malaysian government also intends to continue to support and actively participate in the development of  “the Belt and Road” and promote bilateral economic and trade cooperation.

Recently, Tan Kok Wai, Malaysian Special Envoy to China and Chairman of the Malaysia-China Business Council, said in an exclusive interview with the reporter that the development of bilateral relations has been promoted to become positive and getting better and better by the economic and trade cooperation and growth between China and Malaysia.

“We welcome more Chinese to travel, invest and purchase house in Malaysia.” Tan Kok Wai said.

Malaysian Special Envoy to China, Chairman of the Malaysia-China Business Council Tan Kok Wai

“These data are speaking.”

Among the 10 ASEAN countries, Malaysia is the first country to establish diplomatic relations with China. While witnessing China’s great achievements in reform and opening up, China-Malaysia trade and economic development has also made amazing progress. Tan cited a set of data for comparison: In the 40 years of China’s reform and opening up (1978~2017), China’s per capita income has increased by 55 times, and its gross domestic product (GDP) has increased by 224.6 times. In the same period of 40 years, China-Malaysia trade was observed. In the year of the establishment of diplomatic relations between the two countries (1974), the total bilateral trade volume was only 159 million US dollars. By 2013, it had increased to 106 billion US dollars, an increase of 667 times. “From the perspective of the growth of bilateral trade between Malaysia and China, the relationship between our two countries is getting better and better.” Tan concluded.

“These data are speaking.” Tan said that a series of data is about the optimism of the Chinese government and the Chinese people on Malaysia and the confidence in the development of cooperation between the two countries.

Based on the common position of China and Malaysia in supporting multilateralism and global trade freedom, Malaysian entrepreneurs and investors have been actively participating in and supporting various trade promotion activities sponsored by China, such as China International Import Expo, “One Belt and One Road”. “International Cooperation Summit Forum, etc. “Our two countries have enhanced exchanges and gained business opportunities in these activities.” Tan said. He also expressed his expectation for the 2019 China-ASEAN Expo.

“China-Malaysia ‘Two Parks in Two Countries’ will be more iconic”

On the transcripts of China-Malaysia economic and trade cooperation, Tan was also amazed by the “two parks in two countries” project.

China-Malaysia Qinzhou Industrial Park and Malaysia-China Kuantan Industrial Park have created a new model of international cooperation – “two countries and two parks”. In the 6 years of development and construction of China-Malaysia Qinzhou Industrial Park, the total investment has exceeded 14 billion yuan, the number of registered enterprises has reached 347, and 148 projects have been introduced, with a total investment of 119.745 billion yuan. More than 10 high-tech projects with scale and development prospects have been put into production one after another. The former barren hills and mountains have turned into an industrial new city. Malaysia-China Kuantan Industrial Park focuses on the development of industries with traditional advantages such as steel, aluminum deep processing, palm oil processing, and halal food processing, and accelerates the development of emerging industries such as information and communication, electrical and electronic industries and environmental protection industries. Development of the financial and insurance industry.

“China-Malaysia ‘two parks in two countries’ is an important symbol of cooperation between the two countries and an important window for exchanges and business cooperation between the two peoples of the two countries.” Tan commented. From the outstanding performance of the bilateral trade between Malaysia and Guangxi in the year of 2018 compared with the year-on-year increase of 44% in 2017, he foresees that China-Malaysia Qinzhou Industrial Park, which is a symbol of China-Malaysia economic and trade cooperation, will grow into one of the economic profit-making zones in Guangxi. Regarding the interaction between the “two parks in two countries”, Tan hopes that the Chinese and Malaysian governments will achieve greater progress and development in the areas of investment promotion, tax incentives and education cooperation. “As a result, ‘two parks in two countries’ will be more iconic.”

It is understood that at present, China-Malaysia “two parks in two countries” have established close cooperation arrangements, and industrial cooperation is progressing smoothly. The National Key Laboratory of Bird’s Nest and Nutritional Health Food Testing, the Bird’s Nest Processing Trade Base and the inspection platform of China-Malaysia Qinzhou Industrial Park have been completed and put into use. In 2018, the halal industrial park project jointly established by China-Malaysia Qinzhou Industrial Park and Ministry of Entrepreneur Development (Malaysia) and the Malaysian Innovation City Project jointly established with the Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Malaysia were launched; the integrated steel project with a total investment of 1.4 billion US dollars in Malaysia-China Kuantan Industrial Park has been put into production; the projects such as petrochemical and aluminum processing have been accelerated.

“Let the Chinese feel at home in Malaysia”

In August 2018, Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir visited China to meet with Chinese leaders. Both sides agree that the traditional friendship between China and Malaysia is profound and the two countries are not only comprehensive strategic partners but also pragmatic partners. The two countries are currently standing at a new historical starting point for the development of their respective countries. The two sides are full of confidence in the development prospects of bilateral relations and are satisfied with the current economic and trade relations between the two countries. They agreed to jointly prepare “the five-year plan for economic and trade cooperation between the two countries (2018-2022)”. The two countries will further enhance political mutual trust, deepen pragmatic cooperation, and promote the steady and steady development of China-Malaysia comprehensive strategic partnership on the basis of mutual respect, equality and mutual benefit from the overall strategic situation and long-term perspective. The Malaysian side reaffirmed its firm adherence to the one-China policy and welcomed, supported and will continue to actively participate in “the Belt and Road” cooperation.

In Tan’s view,”the Belt and Road” initiative is based on the new environment of globalization and the future development of the environment, countries to enhance exchanges to achieve mutual benefit and win-win. Despite the uncertainties in international economic and trade trends in recent years, factors such as market downturn and exchange rate fluctuations have caused the bilateral trade volume between China and Malaysia to slow down in 2014, but in 2018, bilateral trade volume between China and Malaysia hit a record high ($108.6 billion). For the third consecutive year, China has become Malaysia’s largest foreign investor. Therefore, Tan believes that China and Malaysia will be able to overcome adversity and develop greater market potential in cooperation. Referring to the decision of the new Malaysian government to suspend or cancel some Chinese investment projects, he said, “This is a decision made by the new Malaysian government based on an assessment of the country’s economic situation, and both the Chinese and Malaysian governments have already done so. The Chinese leaders have repeatedly stated that they fully understand the current economic situation in Malaysia. The Chinese government also believes that the Malaysian side will never sing against the Chinese side.” Tan explained that this will not harm China-Malaysia economic and trade cooperation. The overall situation will not affect the confidence of Chinese-funded enterprises to invest in Malaysia. “China is a strategic partner that we attach great importance to. China-Malaysia relations have a long history and are very close.”

In fact, in order to attract foreign capital, promote tourism, and develop the economy, as early as 2002, the Malaysian government introduced the “Second Home” program (MM2H) to encourage foreigners to live in Malaysia for a longer period of time. The flexible, free and retreatable living conditions of the program are favored by many Chinese. By 2018, the Malaysian government has approved a total of 33,000 foreigners from 126 countries to participate in the program, with the Chinese applying the most and the number of approved persons is 8714.

Under the blessing of “MM2H”, Tan said that the new Malaysian government and institutions at all levels are also constantly introducing more preferential policies, hoping to enhance the confidence of Chinese companies in investing in Malaysia. He said that at present, the Malaysia-China Business Council under his leadership has compiled and published an investment guidebook for Chinese investors, detailing Malaysia’s tax structure, economic and trade laws, political and economic conditions, etc., to facilitate it.

“We want the Chinese to feel at home in Malaysia.” Tan said.

Source: “CHINA-ASEAN PANORAMA” “Political and Economic Edition” (March 2019)

Back
Go top